top of page

Intermittent Fasting

Updated: Jun 17, 2019

I get asked about intermittent fasting all the time. I think the attraction to intermittent fasting are perhaps promises to quick weight loss.

What is intermittent fasting (IF)? Essentially IF involves a period of time in which you fast from food. There are many different types of IF of which I will not really go into, but the science behind it is to improve circadian rhythms of the body. Circadian rhythms are "daily 24-hour rhythms that regulate metabolism, physiology and behaviors not only under light or dark conditions, but are also related to food intake. " While there are numerous studies being conducted on IF and it's effects on cancer and diabetes, there is very little evidence-based research that supports the claim that IF is beneficial to long-term weight loss.



Anyone who has been keeping up with my blogs knows that I support a lifestyle that will give you LONG TERM success. For this reason, I typically try and steer clients away from intermittent fasting. My fear is that by not eating food for long periods of time, you are setting yourself up for a huge binge! You're putting yourself into a situation where you become hungry but you try to ignore it.. and then you become hungrier.. and then you're starving.. and then, guess what?? By the time you allow yourself to eat, you are so hungry that you aren't able to control yourself. Next thing you know, you've just eaten half the contents of the pantry!

With any dietary change, ask yourself, "Can I maintain this long-term?" How does this make me feel? You really have to address the psychology of such restrictions.

That is why I am such a strong believer in a flexible diet plan!! Eating the foods you like, but in moderation. I also want to note that your body will metabolize food the same no matter what time you eat it. At the end of the day, it comes down to the amount of calories you consumed and how balanced your diet is (percentage of carbs, fat and protein).

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page