top of page

Pine Needle Tea

Updated: Jul 28, 2019

I have really been enjoying my new home in Northern Arizona. I've been spending lots of time outdoors and learning more about the flora and fauna around me. I just picked up this awesome hot tea recipe using the resources right outside my back door! I love the aroma while it's simmering, and the taste is even better. And guess what? It has health benefits. Here is what I learned:


Benefits of Pine Needle Tea:

  • High in Vitamin C (4-5 times more Vita C than in a glass of freshly squeezed OJ!)

  • High in Vitamin A (improves eyesight, good for skin and hair regeneration, improves red blood cell production)

  • Thins mucus secretions (works as a decongestant)

  • Has antiseptic properties



Ingredients

  • A handful of pine needles (the younger and greener the better). Start with about 1/4 inch worth of needles. You can always tweak the amount - the more needles, the more intense the flavor.

  • 1 cup of water


Directions:

Rinse your pine needles. Pull out and discard the any brown needles. You can drop them in your pot whole or finely chop them. Finely chopping them will intensify the flavor so you can play around with that and decide how strong you like it. Place them in your pot with 1 cup of water. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 7-10 minutes (no longer than 15). Strain the needles and pour into your mug. Enjoy!


**NOTE: While many conifers are edible, be aware of those that are not, and learn to identify them confidently. For example, the yew tree (Taxus brevifolia) is toxic and should be avoided. In addition, the needles of the Ponderosa pine (Pinus ponderosa) are considered unsafe for pregnant women. Otherwise, most conifers are considered safe (Ponderosa pine is what is most available to me where I live and is what I make my tea with).


Pine Needle Tea

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page